Best MFT Programs in North Carolina | 2027 Rankings

Best Marriage & Family Therapy Programs in North Carolina for 2027

Compare COAMFTE-accredited and CACREP programs by cost, format, and licensure alignment for aspiring NC therapists.

By Emily CarterReviewed by Editorial & Advisory TeamUpdated September 1, 202622 min read
Best MFT Programs in North Carolina | 2027 Rankings

What you’ll learn in this article…

  • North Carolina requires at least 45 graduate credit hours, 500 direct client contact hours, and the AMFTRB national exam for LMFT licensure.
  • COAMFTE accredited programs offer the most direct path to NC LMFT licensure, while CACREP programs may require additional coursework.
  • The state median annual wage for marriage and family therapists is $53,910, with higher earnings in select metro areas.
  • Online MFT degrees can qualify you for NC licensure, but all practicum and direct client hours must be completed in person.

North Carolina employs roughly 2,110 marriage and family therapists, and demand for licensed clinicians continues to outpace the supply of new graduates entering the field. For prospective students, the challenge is straightforward: the state offers only a handful of MFT-specific programs, and choosing the wrong accreditation track can add years of post-degree coursework before you qualify for LMFT licensure.

Both COAMFTE and CACREP pathways exist here, each with different curricular structures and licensing implications under the NC Board of Licensed Marriage and Family Therapy Examiners. Tuition ranges from under $20,000 at in-state public programs to well above $50,000 at private institutions, a spread wide enough to reshape your early-career finances. That narrow program pool, combined with strict clinical-hour requirements, makes upfront research essential rather than optional.

Best Marriage & Family Therapy Programs in North Carolina

The five schools below represent the strongest MFT options in North Carolina, spanning fully accredited master's degrees, an online pathway, and a focused graduate certificate. Each card summarizes what makes the program distinct, what it costs to complete, and what outcomes former students have achieved. Use this as a starting point, then dig into the programs that fit your timeline, budget, and career goals.

Our ranking methodology
What went into the score
  • Accreditation and curriculum depth
  • Cost and affordability for NC residents
  • Graduation and earnings outcomes
  • Online flexibility for working adults
  • North Carolina licensure alignment
Where the data comes from
  • Independent editorial research
  • IPEDS institutional survey data from NCES covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard (earnings and debt) — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Our program database of school-reported details

Appalachian State University

#1

Boone, NC · $9,000 – $25,000/yr

Best for: Rural community clinicians adding addictions counseling

A COAMFTE-accredited Master of Arts in Marriage and Family Therapy delivered in person in the Blue Ridge Mountains. The 51 semester hour curriculum centers on clinical work with individuals, couples, and families, and the optional Addictions Counseling Certificate is approved by North Carolina's addictions board as part of the Criteria C pathway to LCAS licensure. Admission requires a 3.0 GPA plus two academic references or five years of relevant experience, with no GRE required. The institution-wide graduation rate is 75%, and median earnings for former students reach roughly $51,800 ten years after first enrolling.

COAMFTE accredited
  • 51 semester hours required
  • COAMFTE-accredited program
  • No GRE required
  • 3.0 undergraduate GPA required
  • Addictions Counseling Certificate for LCAS pathway
  • Applications due February 1 for fall cohort
  • Clinical training with individuals, couples, families
  • AAMFT-endorsed program

East Carolina University

#2

Greenville, NC · $8,000/yr

Best for: Clinicians pursuing medical family therapy careers

A COAMFTE-accredited master's program with deep roots in eastern North Carolina. This MS in Marriage and Family Therapy, accredited since 1992, was the first MFT program in the state to earn that designation. Students complete 51 semester hours over two years of full-time, face-to-face study, gaining supervised clinical experience at the ECU Family Therapy Clinic and community placements in regional agencies, hospitals, and integrated primary care settings. A Medical Family Therapy Certificate option prepares graduates for work on interdisciplinary healthcare teams. The institution-wide graduation rate is 63%, and former students earn a median of about $55,100 ten years after entering.

  • 51 semester hours, two-year full-time study
  • COAMFTE accredited since 1992
  • First accredited MFT program in North Carolina
  • Clinical experience at ECU Family Therapy Clinic
  • Community placements in agencies and medical settings
  • No thesis required; thesis option available
  • Prepares for LMFT licensure in North Carolina
  • Adds Medical Family Therapy Certificate
  • Training for integrated behavioral health teams
  • Faculty live supervision with recording software
  • Fall semester admission only

Gardner-Webb University

#3

Boiling Springs, NC · ~$12,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Counselors seeking dual LMFT and LCMHC licensure

This Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling folds in an optional Marriage, Couples, and Family Counseling concentration designed for students who want to pursue both LMFT and LCMHC licensure in North Carolina. The curriculum spans 60 to 69 credit hours and includes clinical practicum, diagnostic training, research, and a multicultural counseling focus, with many placement sites serving rural communities in the western part of the state. Graduates come out prepared for dual credentialing, a practical advantage in smaller counties where both licenses expand job options. The institution-wide graduation rate is 55%, and median earnings for former students are about $48,000 ten years after entry.

  • 60 to 69 total credit hours
  • Optional Marriage, Couples, and Family Counseling concentration
  • Clinical practicum and internship included
  • Research, diagnostic, and multicultural training
  • Prepares for LMFT and LCMHC licensure
  • Nine additional MCFC courses beyond core
  • Dual licensure pathway for LMFT and LCMHC
  • Advanced family systems and intervention training
  • Placements in rural western North Carolina agencies

Montreat College

#4

Montreat, NC · $10,000 – $15,000/yr

This 100% online Master of Science in Counseling Psychology with a Marriage and Family Therapy track provides a flexible path to LMFT-A licensure in North Carolina. The program runs on eight-week sessions with six start dates a year, so working adults can pace 54 to 60 credit hours over roughly six to eight semesters. Coursework is grounded in family systems and clinical skill development, and the curriculum is framed around Christian faith. The institution-wide graduation rate is 50%, and former students earn a median of about $45,200 ten years after enrollment.

  • 54 to 60 credit hours
  • Complete in 6 to 8 semesters
  • Eight-week sessions with six start dates yearly
  • 100% online coursework
  • 3.0 GPA and resume required
  • Background check and drug screening required
  • Integrates Christian faith with clinical training
  • Prepares graduates for LMFT-A licensure in NC

North Carolina A & T State University

#5

Greensboro, NC · ~$8,000/yr (est.)

HBCU

A 12-credit graduate certificate in Marriage, Couples, and Family Counseling for counselors and graduate students who want a systemic foundation without committing to a full master's. Coursework on campus covers family theory, dynamics, roles, and boundaries, and is useful for practicing counselors adding relational counseling skills or for graduate students building a specialty. Graduates are positioned for community mental health, private practice, and other settings that emphasize couple and family work. The institution-wide graduation rate is 57%, and median earnings for former students are about $44,400 ten years after enrolling.

  • 12 total credit hours
  • Grounded in family theory and principles
  • Emphasizes systemic family dynamics
  • On-campus didactic coursework
  • Ideal for practicing counselors adding specialty
  • Focus on couples, children, and families

COAMFTE Vs. CACREP: Which Accreditation Path Leads to NC LMFT Licensure?

Not every master's degree that covers couples and family work qualifies you for the same license in North Carolina. The two accreditation bodies you will encounter, COAMFTE and CACREP, prepare graduates for overlapping but distinct professional identities, and the North Carolina Board of Marriage and Family Therapy Examiners treats them differently.

How COAMFTE Programs Align With NC LMFT Licensure

COAMFTE (the Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education) is the specialized accrediting arm of the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy. Programs carrying this accreditation are built around the MFT profession from day one. Graduates of a COAMFTE-accredited program receive automatic acceptance by the NC board when applying for LMFT licensure, meaning the degree itself satisfies the educational requirements without additional review.

Key features of a COAMFTE curriculum include:

  • Systemic theory: Comprehensive coverage of relational and systemic frameworks, the theoretical backbone of MFT practice.
  • Clinical hours: A minimum of 500 direct client-contact hours during the program, with at least 200 of those hours involving relational (couples or family) therapy.
  • Ethics training: Coursework grounded specifically in the ethical standards governing marriage and family therapists, rather than general counseling ethics.

How CACREP Programs Fit the Picture

CACREP (the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs) accredits counseling degrees across several specialties, including a couple and family counseling track. These programs train professional counselors who specialize in relational work. The NC board accepts CACREP graduates on a conditional basis, which typically means the board will audit your transcripts to confirm that specific MFT-related content areas are present. Understanding the difference between these credentials is important; for a broader comparison, see our guide on LMFT vs LPC.

Notable differences include:

  • Clinical hours: CACREP requires 700 total practicum and internship hours but does not mandate a set number of relational therapy hours.
  • Systemic theory: Coverage tends to be foundational rather than comprehensive, because the broader counseling curriculum must also address individual, group, and career counseling.
  • Ethics training: Courses are rooted in general counseling ethics and may be adapted for family work rather than centered on MFT-specific codes.

Which Path Should You Choose?

If your goal is a clear, friction-free route to the NC LMFT license, a COAMFTE-accredited program is the most direct option. You will not need to petition the board or fill curricular gaps after graduation. Browse COAMFTE accredited programs nationwide to compare your options.

A CACREP program can still lead to LMFT licensure in North Carolina, but be prepared for extra steps. The board may require you to document that your coursework covered systemic theory, relational assessment, and MFT ethics at a depth comparable to what COAMFTE programs deliver. In some cases, graduates supplement their transcripts with additional continuing education or post-master's courses.

Before enrolling in any program, contact the NC Board of Marriage and Family Therapy Examiners to verify that your planned degree will satisfy current educational requirements. Accreditation standards and board rules can shift, and a quick confirmation now can save months of remedial coursework later.

Questions to Ask Yourself

Do I need a fully online program, or can I attend in person for practicum and supervision hours?
Most MFT programs require face-to-face clinical practicum, even if coursework is online. If you live far from a campus or approved clinical site in North Carolina, confirm whether the program arranges local placements or if you will need to relocate for supervised hours.
Am I pursuing LMFT licensure specifically, or would an LCMHC with a family therapy concentration also meet my career goals?
North Carolina offers both the LMFT and LCMHC credential. Programs accredited by COAMFTE align directly with LMFT licensure, while CACREP programs typically prepare you for the LCMHC. Choosing the wrong track can add years of post-degree requirements.
Can I complete the required 1,500 or more supervised clinical hours within my program's practicum structure?
Some programs build extensive practicum into the curriculum, while others require you to accumulate most clinical hours after graduation under a board-approved supervisor. Fewer built-in hours means a longer, potentially costlier path to full licensure in North Carolina.

How to Become a Licensed Marriage & Family Therapist (LMFT) in North Carolina

North Carolina's path to LMFT licensure is managed by the North Carolina Board of Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists (NCBMFT). The process follows a clear sequence, from earning your graduate degree through obtaining your full license. The section that follows breaks down each requirement in detail.

Five-step NC LMFT licensure pathway requiring a master's degree, 1,500 clinical hours, 200 supervision hours, and the AMFTRB national exam

NC LMFT Licensure Requirements: Coursework, Clinical Hours & Exams

Earning a master's degree in marriage and family therapy is only the first milestone. To practice independently in North Carolina, you must satisfy the NC Board of Licensed Marriage and Family Therapy Examiners' specific requirements for coursework content, supervised clinical experience, and a national licensing exam.1 Below is a step-by-step breakdown of what the Board expects in 2026.

Required Coursework Content Areas

The Board mandates a minimum of 45 semester hours of graduate coursework distributed across defined content areas. While programs organize their curricula differently, your transcript must demonstrate coverage of at least these core domains:

  • Theoretical foundations of MFT: 6 semester hours covering marital and family systems theory, systemic models, and the historical development of the discipline.3
  • Practice of marriage and family therapy: 6 semester hours focused on clinical techniques, treatment planning, and therapeutic interventions with couples and families.3
  • Human development: 3 semester hours addressing individual and family lifecycle development, including psychopathology and its impact on relational systems.3
  • Professional ethics and identity: Coursework in legal and ethical standards, professional responsibility, and the role of the MFT within the broader mental health landscape.
  • Research: Training in research methodology, program evaluation, and evidence-based practice so therapists can critically appraise the literature they apply in session.
  • Practicum or clinical training: A minimum of 9 semester hours of supervised practicum completed as part of the degree.3

Additional elective hours round out the 45-credit minimum. Keep in mind that courses in adjacent counseling fields may or may not satisfy a particular content area, so confirm alignment with the Board before you enroll.

Two-Tier Clinical Hour Structure

Post-degree clinical experience in North Carolina follows a clearly defined two-tier model:1

  • Total client-contact hours: 1,500 hours of direct therapeutic work with individuals, couples, or families.
  • Relational and systemic therapy hours: At least 500 of those 1,500 hours must involve relational or systemic therapy, meaning sessions where the presenting concern is treated through a couples or family lens.
  • Approved supervision: 200 hours of face-to-face supervision conducted by a Board-approved supervisor. Supervision may be individual or group, though the Board typically requires a meaningful portion to be individual.

Most candidates accumulate these hours over roughly two to three years of post-graduate practice, though the timeline depends on caseload and employment setting.

The LMFT Associate License Stage

Before you can log those post-degree hours, you need an LMFT Associate (LMFTA) credential. This provisional license allows you to practice marriage and family therapy under supervision while you work toward full LMFT status. You apply for the LMFTA through the NC Board after completing your qualifying degree. For a deeper look at the differences between provisional and full credentials, see our comparison of LMFT vs AMFT. Candidates typically hold the LMFTA for two to four years, depending on how quickly they fulfill the clinical and supervision hour requirements.

National Licensing Exam

The final gatekeeping step is the National Marriage and Family Therapy Examination, administered by the Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards (AMFTRB).1 The computer-based test covers domains such as clinical assessment, treatment planning, ethics, and professional practice. You register for the exam through the AMFTRB portal after receiving Board approval, and you must achieve the Board-recognized passing score to qualify for full licensure. Program-specific pass rate data is not currently published by the NC Board, so applicants should contact individual programs directly if they want to compare exam outcomes.

Online Degrees and Distance Education

North Carolina does accept degrees earned through online or hybrid MFT programs for licensure purposes, which opens the door to regionally accredited programs located outside the state. However, the practicum component deserves careful attention. Practicum hours generally must involve direct client contact in a supervised clinical setting, and some online programs coordinate local placement sites to meet this requirement. Before committing to a fully online program, verify with the NC Board that the practicum arrangement satisfies the 9-semester-hour clinical training standard and that the program's accreditation status aligns with licensure eligibility. Our broader guide to becoming an MFT outlines how these requirements compare across states. Taking this step early can save you from costly surprises after graduation.

How Each NC MFT Program Maps to LMFT Licensure Requirements

North Carolina requires at least 45 graduate credit hours, a minimum of 500 direct client contact hours during your degree, and a passing score on the AMFTRB national exam to qualify for LMFT licensure. The table below shows how each in-state program stacks up against those benchmarks so you can see at a glance which path involves the least extra legwork.

ProgramAccreditationTotal CreditsNC Minimum (45 cr.) Met?Clinical Contact Hours in ProgramNC Minimum (500 hrs.) Met?Aligns With NC Board Content Areas?Notes
East Carolina University, MS in Marriage & Family TherapyCOAMFTE60 to 66Yes500YesYesCOAMFTE accredited since 1992; includes Medical Family Therapy certificate option
Appalachian State University, MA in Marriage & Family TherapyCOAMFTE48Yes500YesYesOptional Addictions Counseling Certificate (LCAS track); no GRE required
Pfeiffer University, MFTCOAMFTE60 to 66Yes500YesYesCOAMFTE accredited; curriculum designed to satisfy all NC licensure content areas
Gardner-Webb University, MA in Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Marriage, Couples, and Family Counseling concentration)CACREP (counseling program)60 to 69YesIncluded via practicum and internship; total hours varyVerify with programMay require supplemental documentation for LMFT board reviewConcentration prepares for dual LMFT and LCMHC licensure
University of North Carolina at Greensboro, Couple and Family CounselingCACREP60Yes700 (100 practicum + 600 internship)YesMay require supplemental documentationCACREP accredited; graduates should confirm NC LMFT board content alignment
North Carolina A&T State University, CounselingCACREP60Yes700 (100 practicum + 600 internship)YesMay require board reviewGeneral counseling program; applicants should verify MFT coursework coverage with the NC board
Montreat College, MS in Counseling Psychology: Marriage and Family TherapyNot listed as COAMFTE or CACREP for MFT54 to 60YesVerify with programVerify with programVerify with program100% online delivery; integrates faith perspective; confirm clinical hour totals meet NC requirements

Most Affordable MFT Programs for North Carolina Students

Graduate tuition can vary dramatically depending on whether you attend a public university or a private institution, and that gap is especially relevant for aspiring marriage and family therapists weighing two or more years of full-time study. Here is how the North Carolina MFT landscape breaks down on cost.

Public Universities Offer the Clearest Savings

East Carolina University and Appalachian State University are both public institutions, and their in-state graduate tuition reflects it. ECU lists graduate tuition near $7,658 per year, while Appalachian State comes in around $8,570. For out-of-state students who cannot establish North Carolina residency, the picture shifts considerably: ECU's out-of-state rate climbs to roughly $20,807, and Appalachian State reaches approximately $25,241. If you currently live outside North Carolina, investigate each school's residency reclassification policies before assuming you will pay the higher rate for the full program.

Private Institutions: Sticker Price vs. Net Cost

Gardner-Webb University and Montreat College are private, so they charge the same tuition regardless of where you live. Gardner-Webb's graduate tuition is approximately $12,125 per year, while Montreat College posts roughly $11,820. Those figures may look competitive with the public schools at first glance, but total program costs depend on credit-hour requirements as well. Gardner-Webb's counseling program with the marriage, couples, and family concentration can run up to 69 credits, compared with 51 credits at ECU and Appalachian State.

It is also worth noting that institution-wide average net prices, which factor in grants and scholarships, hover around $15,739 at ECU, $16,836 at Appalachian State, $17,674 at Gardner-Webb, and $27,061 at Montreat. These averages capture the full student body and are not guarantees for any individual graduate student, but they offer a useful sense of how much financial aid each campus distributes overall.

Financial Aid Accessibility and Median Debt

A helpful proxy for how aggressively a school serves students with financial need is the share of undergraduates receiving Pell Grants. Gardner-Webb (about 66%) and Montreat College (about 63%) enroll a notably high proportion of Pell-eligible students, suggesting institutional cultures accustomed to supporting aid applicants. ECU (roughly 55%) and Appalachian State (about 54%) are close behind.

Median debt at graduation provides additional context for total cost of attendance:

  • East Carolina University: approximately $22,750
  • Appalachian State University: approximately $20,231
  • Gardner-Webb University: approximately $24,222
  • Montreat College: approximately $25,813

These figures represent institution-wide medians across all degree levels, not MFT-specific debt, so treat them as directional rather than precise.

Look Beyond North Carolina

If cost is your primary concern and you are open to online study, several regionally or nationally accredited programs outside the state may qualify you for NC LMFT licensure at a lower total price. Our guide to the cheapest MFT programs provides a broader comparison across institutions nationwide. You can also explore best online MFT programs to find flexible options that fit your budget and schedule. Just confirm that any out-of-state program meets the North Carolina licensing board's coursework and clinical-hour requirements before you enroll.

MFT Salary & Career Outlook in North Carolina

North Carolina employs approximately 2,110 marriage and family therapists, making it a solid market for aspiring LMFTs. The state median annual wage of $53,910 falls below the national median for this occupation, but earning potential grows significantly with experience, specialization, and practice setting. Wages at the 75th percentile reach $75,090, and top earners in the state can exceed that figure. Program-level graduate earnings data for NC MFT programs is not yet available at the one-year or four-year post-graduation mark, so the occupation-wide figures below offer the best current benchmark for salary planning.

Wage PercentileAnnual Salary (NC)
10th PercentileNot reported
25th Percentile$46,320
Median (50th Percentile)$53,910
75th Percentile$75,090
90th PercentileNot reported
Mean (Average)$60,540

Highest-Paying NC Metro Areas for Marriage & Family Therapists

MFT salaries in North Carolina vary significantly by metro area, and the differences often reflect local cost of living, demand for mental health services, and the mix of practice settings available. A metro with a higher median wage does not automatically mean more take-home purchasing power, so weigh salary figures against housing and living expenses before relocating. The data below covers the metro areas where BLS reports MFT wage estimates.

Median annual MFT wages across seven North Carolina metro areas, ranging from $43,360 in Winston-Salem to $105,530 in Greensboro-High Point

Frequently Asked Questions About MFT Programs in North Carolina

Choosing the right MFT program and understanding North Carolina's licensure process can feel overwhelming. Below are answers to the questions prospective students ask most often, drawn from current program details and state licensing requirements.

What are the COAMFTE-accredited MFT programs in North Carolina?
East Carolina University (ECU) is home to the state's COAMFTE-accredited MFT offerings: a Master of Science in Marriage and Family Therapy (51 credit hours) and a PhD in Medical Family Therapy (59 credit hours). ECU's master's program has held COAMFTE accreditation continuously since 1992, with its most recent reaccreditation in 2020. Prospective students should check the COAMFTE directory each year for any newly accredited programs in the state.
How many clinical hours are required for LMFT licensure in NC?
North Carolina requires applicants for full LMFT licensure to complete at least 1,500 hours of supervised direct client contact after earning their qualifying degree. These hours must be accrued under an AAMFT Approved Supervisor or equivalent. In addition, your graduate program itself will include practicum and internship hours, though those clinical training hours are separate from the post-degree requirement.
Can I get an MFT degree online and still get licensed in North Carolina?
Yes. North Carolina does not prohibit online degrees for LMFT licensure, provided the program meets the state board's educational standards. Several regionally accredited universities offer online or hybrid MFT and counseling programs that satisfy NC requirements. Keep in mind that clinical practicum and internship components will still require in-person, supervised client contact, so you will need access to approved sites in or near North Carolina.
What is the difference between COAMFTE and CACREP accreditation for MFT programs?
COAMFTE (Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education) accredits programs specifically in marriage and family therapy, while CACREP (Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs) accredits broader counseling programs, including those with a marriage, couple, and family counseling specialty. Both can lead to NC LMFT licensure, but COAMFTE programs are tailored exclusively to MFT training, often requiring more family systems coursework.
How much do marriage and family therapists earn in North Carolina?
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, marriage and family therapists in North Carolina earn a median annual salary in the range of roughly $48,000 to $55,000, though exact figures vary by metro area and experience level. Therapists working in healthcare settings or metropolitan regions such as Charlotte and Raleigh typically earn toward the higher end. Salaries continue to trend upward as demand for licensed mental health professionals grows across the state.
Does East Carolina University (ECU) have an MFT program?
Yes. ECU offers a COAMFTE-accredited Master of Science in Marriage and Family Therapy, a 51-credit-hour, on-campus program that can be completed in approximately 24 months. ECU also offers a COAMFTE-accredited PhD in Medical Family Therapy (59 credit hours) for students pursuing advanced clinical or academic careers. Both programs are housed in ECU's Department of Human Development and Family Science.
How long does it take to become a licensed MFT in North Carolina?
The typical timeline is four to five years from the start of your master's program to full LMFT licensure. A COAMFTE-accredited master's degree like ECU's takes about two years to complete. After graduation, you must accumulate at least 1,500 hours of post-degree supervised clinical experience, which generally takes an additional two to three years depending on your caseload and practice setting. You must also pass the required national licensing examination.

Recent Articles